Summary
- The Florida grand jury’s January 28, 2026 report on the 2024 $10 million Centene settlement transfer found the funds “misappropriated as part of a sophisticated scheme to fund political activities” and returned “insufficient evidence to charge anyone criminally,” routing accountability to a legislative deposit-law recommendation rather than to a named actor.
- The money chain the report fixes runs Centene → Hope Florida Foundation → two political action committees → the Republican Party of Florida and lobbying against the 2024 Florida ballot measure that would have legalized marijuana, with the jurors identifying James Uthmeier’s PAC, Keep Florida Clean, as the “prime recipient of the majority” of the routed funds.
- Uthmeier held “position of authority” over the Centene settlement as Governor Ron DeSantis’s then-chief of staff and was identified by grand jury testimony as having “involvement in directing the money after it went to Hope Florida”; he is the incumbent Florida attorney general now running for election to a full four-year term in the November 3, 2026 general election (the statewide general election held under the federal first-Tuesday-after-first-Monday schedule).
- The grand jury’s structural recommendation — that the Florida legislature enact a law requiring all state money be deposited into General Revenue — targets the routing architecture rather than the actors, treating the absence of an identified decision-maker at the diversion point as the audit-trail gap the law would close.
A Florida grand jury’s January 28, 2026 report on a 2024 transfer of $10 million from a Centene Medicaid settlement concluded the funds were “misappropriated as part of a sophisticated scheme to fund political activities” and that there was “insufficient evidence to charge anyone criminally,” then recommended the legislature enact a deposit law to prevent recurrence. The two findings sit side by side: a structural determination that the money moved, and an evidentiary finding that no person was identified as having directed it. How a reader holds them together determines what the public record now says about the transfer, and the framing matters now because the report entered Florida’s 2026 gubernatorial and attorney general races with both phrases on the page.
Two findings, one report
The two findings the Florida grand jury filed in its January 28, 2026 report are not the same kind of finding.
The first, that the $10 million was “misappropriated,” describes the routing of the money. The second, that there was “insufficient evidence to charge anyone criminally,” describes the evidentiary record before the panel.
Florida grand jury proceedings are non-adversarial. Defense counsel does not appear; witnesses are not cross-examined by the defense. The “insufficient evidence” standard reflects the strength of the evidence the panel heard, not the strength of an untested case. Both findings stand on the same record. The jurors did not reconcile them; they filed them in sequence and added a third conclusion, that “nobody will take responsibility for deciding the $10 million of taxpayer money would go to Hope Florida.”
Reading “misappropriation” as a legal finding rather than as the jurors’ characterization of the routing would over-read the report. Reading “insufficient evidence” as exoneration would under-read it. The report leaves both standing and lets the reader hold them together.
The chain of custody the report fixes
A relationship map of the money chain the report fixes begins with Centene, “a contractor for the government health insurance program for low-income Americans and children,” which in 2024 settled with the state for an unstated total. From the settlement, $10 million was transferred to the Hope Florida Foundation, which the report describes as “an initiative championed by the First Lady of Florida, Casey DeSantis” — the report’s only reference to her.
From Hope Florida, the funds moved “quickly” through two political action committees, per the jurors. One, Keep Florida Clean, took the “majority” of the routed money and was identified by the jurors as Uthmeier’s PAC. The second PAC is referenced as a recipient but is not publicly named in the source reporting. From the PACs, the money went two places: it funded lobbying against the 2024 ballot measure that would have legalized marijuana in Florida, and it reached the Republican Party of Florida. The report traces the chain end-to-end; what it does not fix is who, at the diversion point, decided the $10 million would leave General Revenue and travel through a charity to partisan vehicles.
Three named officials sit on the chain. Uthmeier held “position of authority over those involved in settling with Centene” as DeSantis’s chief of staff at the time, and testimony identified him as “having involvement in directing the money after it went to Hope Florida.” Ashley Moody’s office, then the Department of Legal Affairs, “knew of the payment,” per the jurors, and her chief deputy signed the Centene settlement “without conducting his due diligence to ensure the proper appropriation of taxpayer funds.” Casey DeSantis is named once, as the champion of the conduit; her operational role is not described.
Defenses on the record
A stakeholder map of the parties named in the report shows where each stands on the record. Governor DeSantis, asked about the report at a Thursday appearance, said “the only crime that was apparent was whoever leaked the grand jury report.” He described the Centene settlement as “legally sound” and “appropriate” and said it “advanced the interest of state,” and added: “There was no diversion of any Medicaid funds. That was a private settlement where a company made a private contribution with one of the state agencies.” Of Casey DeSantis, the governor said: “The whole reason people tried to make hay of this, was they were trying to use it to smear the first lady of Florida, my wife, and what has come out? Oh, she wasn’t involved in anything. She wasn’t involved in any of this.”
Uthmeier, who served as DeSantis’s chief of staff at the time of the 2024 transfer and is now the incumbent Florida attorney general running for election to a full four-year term, appeared at an event in the Villages on Thursday and said he was barred by Florida law from commenting on the report. “I can’t say if it’s true or not,” he said. “If it is indeed true … there was no probable cause found that anybody did anything wrong.” He called the matter “a hoax that has been debunked time and time and time again” and, without evidence, attributed the report to Democrats. “Nobody did anything wrong here,” he added.
A spokesperson for U.S. Senator Ashley Moody — Florida’s attorney general at the time of the settlement and now in her second year in the Senate — told the New York Times that “the reports confirm what we have said all along” and that “neither the Department of Legal Affairs nor the former attorney general had knowledge of how the settlement money would be spent.” The spokesperson characterized attempts to characterize the matter otherwise as “disingenuous.” Both Uthmeier and Moody have denied wrongdoing.
The report has also entered the 2026 governor’s race. Democratic nominee David Jolly said on Thursday that he would “reopen an investigation” if elected and challenged Republican nominee Byron Donalds to do the same.
The architecture the deposit law targets
The grand jury’s recommendation addresses the routing rather than the actors. It urged the Florida legislature to enact “a law that says any monies received by the state from any source must be deposited into General Revenue, and there should be real consequences for anyone violating this law.”
The recommendation reads as a structural fix for an audit-trail gap. The report’s own conclusion — that “no witness would take responsibility for making the decision or had any memory of who made it” — describes the diversion point as a recordkeeping void: the transfer occurred, but the decision to make it did not survive in any witness’s testimony. A deposit law would close the route the $10 million took by requiring state money to enter the state’s general accounting system first, where transfers out would have a documented sponsor. The recommendation leaves the question of who decided the 2024 transfer open; it proposes to prevent the next one from being undecidable.
The Florida legislature has the recommendation; it does not have a deadline. The Republican majority controls the procedural calendar, and the report’s findings have already entered the 2026 general election as a Democratic talking point.
What the record leaves open
A review of the source coverage surfaces four gaps in the public record alongside the report’s findings.
First, the seven-month gap between the report’s January 28, 2026 date and its late-August 2026 publication is reported as fact but not contextualized. The article does not state why the report was sealed, who petitioned for its release, or whether the timing aligns with Florida’s standard practice for sealing grand jury reports.
Second, the second PAC alongside Keep Florida Clean is described as a recipient but not identified in the source article. The routing chain records two PACs; only one is named.
Third, Hope Florida Foundation’s tax status, board composition, and the mechanism by which it received the $10 million are not described in the source article. The “funneling” characterization has weight only relative to the foundation’s normal operating pattern, which the article does not establish. Public IRS filings would resolve this.
Fourth, Centene’s settlement context is missing. Centene is described only as “a contractor for the government health insurance program for low-income Americans and children.” The underlying claims that produced the settlement, the total settlement size, and the date of the original action are not stated. A reader cannot tell from the source article whether $10 million was a routine settlement allocation, a minor fraction of a larger agreement, or a novel diversion.
Questions to carry forward
Three questions follow the report into the next story:
-
What was the total size and underlying claim of the 2024 Centene settlement, and was the $10 million transfer a named allocation in the settlement agreement or a discretionary redirection after the fact?
-
Who directed the $10 million to Hope Florida, and what documentary record — emails, settlement-agreement language, internal memos — would resolve the “no witness takes responsibility” finding?
-
Will the Florida legislature enact the General Revenue deposit law the jurors recommended, and on what timeline?
Analytical techniques used in this piece
This analysis applies the methods below. Each links to a short, plain-English explainer you can read and reuse.
- Red-Team Assessment
- Models a capable adversary probing a plan for the seams they would exploit.
- Relationship Mapping
- Extracts the network of ties among people, institutions, and entities.
- Stakeholder Mapping
- Charts the parties to a situation — their interests, power, and alignments.